Traffic Services Bureau FAQ's

How do I obtain a handicapped parking permit?
How do I report a motor vehicle accident?
What should I do if I witness a traffic accident?
What should I do if I have been involved in a traffic accident?
How do I get a copy of a traffic accident report?
How do I report speeding vehicles?
How do I report missing or damaged traffic signs, or malfunctioning traffic signals?
How do I request a new traffic sign?
What are the requirements for adults under the New Jersey Occupant Restraint Law?
What are the requirements under the New Jersey Child Restraint Law?
Who is responsible and subject to a fine under the New Jersey Occupant Restraint and Child Restraint Laws?
What are the fines under the New Jersey Occupant Restraint and Child Restraint Laws?
What if I have a medical reason for not wearing seat belts?

How do I obtain a handicapped parking permit?
You can pick up a form at the Records Bureau. If you prefer you can download the form from the South Brunswick Township web site and click on Department and then Police where you will find PD-Forms http://www.sbtnj.net or directly from the New Jersey Motor Vehicle web site http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/Vehicle/handicapped . You will select the form for temporary parking placard. All 3 Sections must be filled out before submitting it for processing with a check or money order for $4 written out to "N.J. Motor Vehicle Commission". Bring it to the Records Bureau during normal business hours (8:30 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.) and a placard will be issued while you wait. Temporary placards are issued for six months, with one six-month renewal allowed and a new form will have to be filled out for the renewal with a $4.00 check or money order made out to N.J. Motor Vehicle Commission.
Permanent handicap parking applications can also be obtained from the Records Bureau, but YOU must complete the form and mail it to N.J. Division of Motor Vehicle. We do not issue permanent placards.

How do I report a motor vehicle accident?
A person who has witnessed or come upon a traffic accident should call 9-1-1 or, if certain that the accident has occurred in South Brunswick, 732-329-4646. It is helpful if the person reporting the accident has basic information to relay such as: exact location, number of vehicles and whether any of the occupants are injured. Your phone number should be given to the dispatcher if possible.

What should I do if I witness a traffic accident?
Report the accident to police immediately. Remain on the scene, if possible until police arrive. Identify yourself to the officer in charge and tell him or her that you are a witness. If you must leave before police arrive you should call 732-329-4646 and identify yourself to the dispatcher. The investigating officer will return your call, at which time you may relay your observations.

What should I do if I have been involved in a traffic accident?
A person should ascertain if anyone is injured and report the accident to police by the quickest means possible. All drivers should remain at the scene until police arrive. You should retrieve your driver’s license, vehicle registration and insurance card to present to the officer upon his or her arrival.

How do I get a copy of a traffic accident report?
To obtain a copy of a motor vehicle crash report, wait three to five business days and then call the Records Bureau and check to make sure the report is completed and available. If the report is releasable, you may either request a copy by mail or come to police headquarters during regular business hours, 8:30 A.M. until 4:30 P.M. To request a copy by mail, send a check for $5.00 written out to "Township of South Brunswick"; enclose a note with your name, the case number (if available) and the location and date of the event. Also include a self addressed, stamped envelope.
If you choose to come into headquarters to pick up a copy of an investigative report or computer generated report, you must complete an O.P .R.A. form. Reports picked up at headquarters are $.05 a page.

Motor vehicle crash reports are now available online, as well. To obtain a motor vehicle crash report online, please click here.
Please note that online reports will cost a total $8.00 per report. $5.00 for the report plus a $3.00 convenience fee.

How do I report speeding vehicles?
A complaint for a specific speeding vehicle should be directed to the South Brunswick Police Department Communications Center at (732)329-4646. You should give the dispatcher a physical description of the vehicle including color, make, model, license plate number, and a description of the driver and/or occupants if possible. If you are experiencing continual speeding problems on your street involving many vehicles, you should call the Traffic Services Bureau at 732-329-4000 Ext. 7472. The complainant should be able to give the location of the speeding problem and the time or times that it is occurring. Give this information to the Traffic Bureau secretary and the traffic safety officer assigned to your target area will contact you about your complaint.

How do I report missing or damaged traffic signs, or malfunctioning traffic signals?
Regulatory signs such as stop or yield signs, which if down or damaged pose an immediate hazard, should be reported at once to police dispatch at 732-329-4646. Malfunctioning traffic signals should also be reported to the above number. Damaged or missing signs such as speed limit signs and advisory or directional signs should be reported to the Traffic Services Bureau at 732-329-4000 Ext. 7472.

How do I request a new traffic sign?
If you feel that the addition of a traffic sign on a street or at an intersection would better serve motorists or increase traffic safety, you should call the Traffic Services Bureau at 732-329-4000 Ext. 7472. The traffic safety officer assigned to your target area will contact you regarding your request.

What are the requirements for adults under the New Jersey Occupant Restraint Law?
Occupants 18 years of age or older must wear seat belts when riding in the front seat. Although it is recommended that adults riding in the rear seat "buckle up," it is not required by law.

What are the requirements under the New Jersey Child Restraint Law?
Children under 18 months of age must be restrained in a federally approved car seat when riding anywhere in the car.
Children between 18 months and five years of age must be in a car seat if they are riding in the front seat and must be secured by a safety belt if riding in the rear seat.
If the number of children under five years old exceeds the number of safety belts, children who are not restrained must ride in the rear seat.

Who is responsible and subject to a fine under the New Jersey Occupant Restraint and Child Restraint Laws?
The driver is responsible for any passenger under the age of 18. Front seat passengers who are 18 and over are responsible for themselves.

What are the fines under the New Jersey Occupant Restraint and Child Restraint Laws?
If you, the driver, are cited for being unbelted or for a front seat passenger under the age of 18 being unbelted, the fine is $46.00.
The penalty for violations of the Child Restraint Law is $54.00.

What if I have a medical reason for not wearing seat belts?
Those with physical or medical reasons must have those reasons documented in writing by a licensed physician to be exempt from the law.